Hey BCM240!

Alright, so it’s that time again. The beginning of a new semester means another BCM subject… and another BCM subject means another blogging task.

Did you guys miss me?

For those of you who aren’t familiar with my blog or myself – let me introduce myself. It’s only fair, I mean it’s not like it’s obligatory for every new blogging task. Oh wait, yes it is. But that is A-OK because it gives me a chance to tell you what’s new in my life and all about my latest media interests/habits.

My name is Caitlin and I was born and raised in Wagga Wagga as the youngest of five children (wow). I moved to Wollongong for the commencement of UOW’s Autumn session, 2013, and I’ll be hanging around until sometime during 2016 (at least I hope so). Currently in my second year of a Bachelor of Communications and Media studies, doing a double major in Marketing and Advertising, and Management.

Uni aside, I work part time at a café and I enjoy exploring new places and doing new things. I don’t mind exercising, I do like spending quality time with myself, but I also love to be with my friends.

I would have to say that I am highly dependent on my devices – I always have my phone with me and I most certainly need my mac to do my work (and browse the web) – pen, paper and the library just doesn’t cut it these days. One of the fancy features of my house is an intercom system through which the radio is constantly playing. If I’m not using this fabulous invention then I am listening to my iPod. Finally, there is the TV which I only use to watch movies and TV series that I own or have downloaded as the one in my bedroom has no cable connection.

Now that you know a bit about me, here is a peek at my late night media space.

Don’t worry, I realize there a person in my bed but he’s usually there when I decide to crawl into my nest to do some work or just relax, so I figure I best include him. I do have a desk, but when it starts getting late, I prefer being in bed, either with or without the TV on; but definitely with my phone and TV remote by my side as I sit/lie there with my mac.

Media spaces are complex and this image exemplifies that notion. I think it’s rare for people to be occupied by just one singular screen; often their attention is shared between a number of devices. If, in the rare circumstance that I am focused on the one device, within that device my attention is generally divided between a number or applications and activities. I never seem to stop multitasking when using media and devices, and that’s because it’s made all too easy. Media platforms are increasingly becoming integrated to encourage a participative audience culture which ultimately creates more interactive media spaces.

Leave a Reply

